MaterialsForBoatbuilding

Discussion in 'Wiki Archive' started by TerryKing, Mar 30, 2007.

1. TerryKing

TerryKing On The Water SOON

2. djwkd

djwkd Senior Member

Not bad actually!i havent really had a proper look at it (as im not a boatbuilder-im a raft builder!)but it does look good from the things that i did look at!

3. ancient kayaker

ancient kayaker aka Terry Haines

Very good info. Is this the right place for stuff like jigs? I have a great design for a scarfing jig that gives perfect results using a belt sander which I would like to share.

4. alan white

alan white Senior Member

Thankyou! I wouldn't mind borrowing your belt sander! I can send you shipping info right away!
    Sorry--- couldn't resist. And since I like ideas that save time and give good results, could you draw your jig?

Thanks, Alan

5. alan white

alan white Senior Member

Very useful, Terry! Thanks. A boatbuilder's wikapedia.

Alan

6. lazeyjack

lazeyjack Guest

yes terry great for someone who has not really been into wood and sticky stuff
    But now we are working on a canal boat (wide beam) with all ply houses and roofs,
    We always used to use asbestos powder as glue mix, it was really strong, funny thing is you can not buy it now))

7. ancient kayaker

I hope the graphics turns out OK; there are two jigs, one for cutting and one for gluing. The cutting jig is ideal for thin ply where precision is extra important; the steel bar and square tube should be rotated as they wear. The gluing jig is great if you have a lot of planks to scarf.

Attached Files:

• JIG1.jpg
      JIG1.jpg
      File size:
      246.1 KB
      Views:
  8. alan white

alan white Senior Member

Does it work well?

9. ancient kayaker