Welder Recommendation

Discussion in 'Metal Boat Building' started by AFK888888, May 17, 2021.

1. AFK888888

AFK888888 Junior Member

Good Evening All,

New member to the forum, and looking for some quick and easy advice (I hope).

I am a novice welder, I can lay beads with some skill using MIG, stick, and Oxy-Acetylene. Looking at using this skill in building myself a small aluminum boat. Can anyone recommend what type of welder I should consider in purchasing to do this? I hope this doesn't start a "red is better than blue" war, but if there is a specific model/set up, please let me know and I will take it under advisement.

2. jehardiman

jehardiman Senior Member

You really need to answer the question of how much welding you are going to do over the life of the equipment ... feet or miles... and of what type of material ...Steel, Al, SS, Ti .... and what thickness and quality. Retired from a shipyard where I participated in the design, and oversaw the fabrication of many large welded structures of all materials, I will say that new construction has very, very different requirements and economies than refit and repair. We literally had hundreds of different machines and processes for different reasons. I would say start with a industrial quality MIG machine with the capability for all the wires and gasses.

3. comfisherman

comfisherman Senior Member

Define "small" boat. Likely will want to go at minimum with a miller 215 and a spoolmate 150. It's the smallest gun that runs 5356 to my knowledge. I keep one and a 80 tank aboard for repairs on the grounds. If the boat is going to be much over 18-20 feet I'd be shooting for a 255 with a push pull gun. Last year a neighbor bought one with an air cooled push pull for a bit nort of 5k, at time of writing it looks like 55-5700 is what you'll be for a 255 and aircooled alumapro. The 215 duty cycle is easier to hit but it's super convenient and can utilize 120v, also looking at 21-2200 for the combo.