sims super v jet drive problem or mismatch engine to impeller ?

Discussion in 'Jet Drives' started by james willingale, Oct 5, 2019.

1. james willingale

james willingale Junior Member

Hi all i am new to the boating world and hope some of you may be able to shed some light on this subject. i have a 14ft sims super v jet boat witch new had a 16oo crossflow engine fitted to it like they all did and the jet drive is a copy of the pp65 made by west end marine. I have made some changes to the boat in hope to make it go a little faster than it was in back in the day. so i bought a omc 2.3l from lancing marine and fitted that thinking all would be good took the boat to the water to try her out and i am having some trouble getting this sims off the line to say the least it's almost like a clutch slip the rpm's go up but with no real thrust from the jet drive.I set my impeller clearance to about 1/2 a mm both sides and can not really go any closer at the moment as there are a few small bumps push up behind the wear ring from corrosion (i need to find a replacement wear ring if anybody knows where i could get one please) this may not be helping matters ?. or could it be more that now i have fitted a bigger engine i need to change my impeller pitch or the amount of blades on the impeller to a 4 blade impeller with less pitch ?. i did once manage to get this boat up on the plane once with a friend sat on the front but it was a struggle but once under way hit 35/40 mph at 3500 rpm and could not get any more rpm as i think the timing was way out that day due to the person before not putting the distributor in correct. any help on this matter would be great. Thanks

2. Yellowjacket

Yellowjacket Senior Member