PVC pipe as a SOF kayak frame material?

Discussion in 'Boat Design' started by mitchgrunes, Jul 14, 2021.

1. mitchgrunes

mitchgrunes Senior Member

PVC pipe as a SOF frame material?

I've been playing with 1/2" schedule 40 PVC pipe, as a frame material for a SOF sea kayak prototype, that is planned to be a "break-apart folder", that can break down to pieces that will fit into my car. (I have roof racks, but as I get older, it becomes harder to lift boats on top. Besides, I think folders are cool.)

I like PVC pipe because it's ridiculously cheap; is fairly light; is available at local hardware stores; is easy to cut with a hacksaw (or jig saw) and put together with friction fits and/or glue and/or readily available 2-way, 3-way and 4-way fittings; is somewhat flexible cold, and supposedly can easily be formed to shape when filled with boiling water. I don't need a band saw or steam box.

But I'm not an engineer, and don't know the downsides of PVC pipe, as a long term structural material. I guessed that its flexibility would be a good thing for a lightweight boat, because it would bend somewhat with the waves, rather than break. But I don't know whether it can keep doing so for years on end, and whether that flexibility goes far enough.

E.g., www.creativemechanisms.com/blog/everything-you-need-to-know-about-pvc-plastic claims that PVC is brittle. I don't know how brittle, and what they are comparing it to. Maybe that means it wouldn't be a good material. I don't know how it compares in strength and durability to materials like epoxy infused plywood or oak, aluminum, or carbon fiber, that are commonly used for the frames of SOF boats.