Omc 120 3000 Rpm At Full Load?

Discussion in 'Sterndrives' started by H180DSC, Sep 22, 2009.

1. H180DSC

H180DSC Junior Member

Hey all,

I have a 1986 seaswirl open bow 16.5' 120 omc (2.3l gm engine w/ 2 jet Rochester). I picked this boat up earlier this year, and have an engine issue. Here is the problem: Running in neutral, the engine revs crisply, and hits 5000 rpm (thats when I let off). When running under load (doesn't matter how many people are in the boat), the max rpm is 3000 rpm. I have a 15.5x15 pitch prop, and a 15.5x13 pitch prop. The max rpm is the same with either prop installed. I have checked compression 145-150 psi on all 4 cylinders. Did a basic tune up: cap, rotor, plugs, wires, which had nil effect. I am a CAT diesel mechanic, and if this was a diesel, it acts like lack of fuel. I am not a gas engine guy, and have been told that it is not a fuel issue b/c it would run hot? The timing was set at 14 deg. btdc. I reset it to 4 deg. as per the valve cover spec., and this had nil effect. The distributor is new, and has mechanical advance. Please Help!!

2. gonzo

gonzo Senior Member

What do the sparkplugs look like? If it is running lean they will be very white

3. H180DSC

H180DSC Junior Member

Gonzo,

Should I check them now, or should I check them right after a full speed run? If I check them now on the trailer, the last load the engine saw was when I idled through the marina before loading. Will this change anything?

4. H180DSC

H180DSC Junior Member

I had another thought. The distributer has been replaced (not by me), and has been updated with an electronic ignition conversion kit. Is there any component in this ignition system that would limit the revs?

5. PAR

PAR Yacht Designer/Builder

Your engine should be hitting 5,600 to 5,800 RPM if well tuned and propped at WOT under load.

Which ignition module do you have, the CDI or the Mallory?

6. H180DSC

H180DSC Junior Member