Mercruiser 188/888 starting and running but no thrust

Discussion in 'Sterndrives' started by Mark TR, Nov 3, 2020.

1. Mark TR

Mark TR New Member

I have a new (to me) 1972 Tom Sawyer 18' runabout with a Mercruiser 188hp/888. It starts fine, runs fine, but I have no thrust in the water. I am brand new to boating, so I am sure I am missing something obvious, but I have no idea what it is. Big case of "I don't know what I don't know". Can anyone give some pointers as to what I may be missing? Its almost like its stuck in neutral, but as far as I can tell there's no switch to change gears. Thanks for any pointers anyone can give!

2. Mr Efficiency

Mr Efficiency Senior Member

You mean it doesn't go into gear, or it does go into gear, but lacks thrust ? We are all confused by this ! :)

3. fallguy

fallguy Senior Member

Try boat out of water. Put in gear. Turn off.

Try to spin prop by hand.

probably have a prop problem with the clutch

4. gonzo

gonzo Senior Member

If it goes into gear, it could be a spun propeller hub, a spun coupler, a stripped couple/input shaft splines among the most usual culprits.

fallguy likes this.
  5. Mr Efficiency

Mr Efficiency Senior Member

It sounds like the boat owner does not know how to put it into gear, more than it goes nowhere when put into gear.

6. Mark TR

Mark TR New Member

I move the throttle forward (Or backwards) and the engine revs up, but it doesn't move. As
    You're probably correct! Here are a few pictures of the throttle and the dash board... should it go into gear automatically?

Attached Files:

7. gonzo

gonzo Senior Member

If you look in the engineroom, the shifter cable connects at the top where the shift switch interrupt assembly is. You should see it move when you shift. Ideally, buy a shop manual, because it will have photos and diagrams to help you locate what to look at.

8. kapnD

kapnD Senior Member

The control handle,slides in/out, possibly by engaging the black button in the center of the hub.