Gelcoat as non-skid on Deck

Discussion in 'Boatbuilding' started by Klink Sanford, Dec 10, 2021.

1. Klink Sanford

Klink Sanford Junior Member

I want to roller and brush apply gelcoat as non-skid over an epoxied deck that has cured for one year in a barn (out of the sun). I studied all the different advice on the internet, and concluded that it'd be a good idea to test everything on plywood so my mistakes just cost me a little gelcoat and time. So, far I have gotten the pattern method down, I am satisfied with the way the pattern looks. It is finer grain, not the standard initial big pattern you get with a roller. My problem is that the coats are too thin. My first coat is un-thickened gelcoat (I got 4 mils), and my second coat is thickened with Cabosil (I got 14mils). The test panels are under 2 sq ft and the rollers are cut to 3 inches. Because the tests are so small, the roller sucks up all the gelcoat. QUESTION: If I increase the gelcoat quantity for the small test, can one really roll 18mils with a roller and un-thickened gelcoat? Or should I use a brush for un-thickened? On the 2nd coat, the thickened gelcoat, I think I will be Ok by just mixing up more gelcoat to compensate for the roller sucking, so, should I also thicken the first coat with Cabosil?

I have been using un-waxed gelcoat and using PVA after the final coat. The test samples have all finished a bit sticky, and I think it is because the coats were too thin.

2. ondarvr

ondarvr Senior Member

Don't concern yourself with the how thick a roller applies it, and there's no need to thicken the gel coat.

The procedure is to apply one coat of gel coat, immediately apply the chosen grit size and type in the amount you feel is correct, wait for that to harden. Apply as many coats of gel coat after that as needed to achieve the actual texture you desire, every additional coat will reduce how aggressive the texture will be.