Free "Starlite" plans. Are they worth it?

Discussion in 'Boat Design' started by Eigersa, Nov 4, 2022.

1. Eigersa

Eigersa Junior Member

Good day all forum users. My name is Shelldon, I live on the east coast of South Africa (Durban). It has always been my dream to build a boat/yacht of some sort and do a little coastal day sailing and I have been scouring the interwebs for the simplest of plans to start a build. I am a carpenter and have been plying my trade for close on 30 years, so I'm not too intimidated by the actual building part, the plans however.

There are a lot of plans out there, and some are really expensive (in terms of exchange rate from dollars to ZAR rands), and more, I do not know how all the various designs compare to one another. I did however come across this set of free plans (I know, you get what you pay for) which appears to be relatively simple as a backyard build.

Has anyone on the the forums come across this plan before and has anyone actually built the Starlite or knows of someone who did? Any thoughts would be most welcome.

Here's a link to the plans , but it is a pdf (8 pages or so) and opens in the new window -> http://boatplans-online.com/plans/BPO_Starlite.pdf

2. gonzo

gonzo Senior Member

Do yourself a favor and buy a more modern design. Unless you are looking for a race boat, stock plans are fine. However, free plans like this have no support from the designer. If you are an experienced boatbuilder, that is not an issue. Is that the size boat you are looking for?

bajansailor likes this.
  3. Eigersa

Eigersa Junior Member