epoxy over gelcoat

Discussion in 'Fiberglass and Composite Boat Building' started by Crayolo, Apr 11, 2019.

1. Crayolo

Crayolo New Member

Hello,

The shower room is in plywood from bottom to top. I don't own exactly a boat, it is a van instead. But I hope nonetheless you could help me.

Unfortunately, the craftsman, so-called professional, laminated the plywood directly with gelcoat (roughly), without any resin before.

Now, I don't think I could put resin over the gelcoat, will it stick? Is there a way to fix the damage?

Thank you.

2. Dejay

Dejay Senior Newbie

Someone correct me if I'm wrong, I'm just learning too.

If you sand to rough up the surface epoxy should stick just fine. If you want a really smooth surface you need to sand multiple times anyways, so this might not be a bad thing to fill up the wood surface a bit. Or you could sand it off completely.
    But you might consider a bit of light fiberglass cloth to make the surface more durable, cracks or dings might be a problem with water ingress.

You have some pictures of your van build? :)

3. Blueknarr

Blueknarr Senior Member

Welcome to the forum.

Pictures always help. I don't know exactly what you're trying to fix, other than it is a rv shower.

Is the surface simply too rough?
    Are there cracks in the corners?
    Are there cracks developing along the plywood's grain?
    Are chunks of gelcoat flaking off?

Quick answer is epoxy will adhere to gelcoat. However, the gelcoat is a weak link. So it is advisable to remove the gelcoat/paint prior to an epoxy repair

Last edited: Apr 11, 2019
  4. Crayolo

Crayolo New Member

Thank you a lot!
    I think I'll try and sand it completely. I'll buy a sander tomorrow. Thereafter, I would be able to put some resin into the plywood as it ought to be if I am not mistaken, fiberglass cloth and so on.

I have no pictures tonight, maybe tomorrow :)

Thank you.

5. Blueknarr

Blueknarr Senior Member

So features to look for in sander.