Electric propulsion for small fantail launch

Discussion in 'Electric Propulsion' started by jconlin, Feb 13, 2021.

1. jconlin

jconlin Junior Member

I am partner in a 17’ fantail launch that’s now powered by a 1908 Ferro one-lung engine.
    The existing engine is about 3 HP at maybe 400 RPM.
    WE’re thinking that an electric propulsion system might suit our usage better.
    How can we learn about the options of an electric-based system?
    Maybe something based on golf cart components.
    Jim

2. bajansailor

bajansailor Marine Surveyor

Hi Jim - I (and no doubt many others on here) am intrigued by your 1908 Ferro engine - can you tell us some more about it please, and perhaps include a photo or two of the engine and the boat?

Was the boat also originally built in 1908 as well?

I am no expert on electric propulsion systems, but if your heart is set on re-powering with electric, then your boat sounds like a good candidate for doing this with.

david@boatsmith likes this.
  3. Will Gilmore

Will Gilmore Senior Member

upload_2021-2-14_8-19-16.png
    Pictures would also be appreciated.
    -Will (Dragonfly)

4. jconlin

jconlin Junior Member

IMG_1766.JPG IMG_1709.JPG IMG_1766.JPG IMG_1709.JPG IMG_1327.JPG

I don't know much about the engine. The other owner has had it for a long while. and we decided it needed a boat.
    The boat is based on a 1908 Palmer fantail launch in the collection of mystic Seaport Museum. They publish lines and offsets.
    Using the engine is a bit of an art and we think that we'd enjoy using the boat more if it were electric powered. Our usage is strictly for short, slow harbor cruises and it can be recharged from shore power between uses.

Please suggest resources for simple shore-recharged electric propulsion.

Will Gilmore likes this.
  5. bajansailor

bajansailor Marine Surveyor

Jim, your boat is beautiful! Did you and your partner build her from plans supplied by Mystic Seaport?