DIY cosmetic GRP mods; difficult? stupid? expensive?

Discussion in 'Boat Design' started by westie, Aug 9, 2011.

1. westie

westie New Member

Hi,

I'm new to this site. I've been mulling over making some cosmetic mods to my ketch over the coming winter. Reason: purely aesthetics, because there are one or two areas that don't sit well with me when I look at her.

This might be stupidity. As I have no experience with grp, it may well be beyond my technical ability ...and could well be more money and trouble than it's worth. I've done a couple of quick photoshop visuals to show the sort of thing that I'm considering (although these are by no means representative of the finished designs).

[​IMG]
    Addition of a rounded storage box on the foredeck to reduce angular look.

[​IMG]
    Addition of a sugar scoop to update the stern.

Images on the left as she is now. Any thoughts?

2. CatBuilder

CatBuilder Previous Member

While it's certainly possible, you will need to learn all the techniques (it takes quite a while, possibly more than the winter if you're part time). You will also need to build molds for modifications like that, where you have a specific shape in mind. Does seem like a lot of work and not worth the money. However, if you are doing it more as a hobby and because you love your boat, it may be worth doing for personal reasons.

PS: I'm not a big fan of your first modification. You are modifying the boat so you have even less of a foredeck and an even bigger area to slip and fall on?

1 person likes this.
  3. tunnels

tunnels Previous Member