Daily fuel consumption calculation

Discussion in 'Propulsion' started by YSS Caribbean, Jun 29, 2020.

1. YSS Caribbean

YSS Caribbean New Member

Hi everyone,

I am studying at the moment a Unit about propulsion systems and in the assesment the following question is presented:
    Using the following vessel information calculate:-

The estimated daily fuel consumption.

L = 30m

Vessel’s service speed = 8kts

Displacement = 410t

Fuel coefficient = 76,000

NOTE: I have done the calculations and research but struggeling with myself to belive the actual result and thinking I made a mistake somewhere, but cant get a grip on it.

I come to the result: Fuel consumption/day = 0.37 t

My calculation path is in the attachment. Hope someone can just have a quick look- if I missed something.

upload_2020-6-29_20-25-47.png

Thanks a lot.

Last edited: Jun 29, 2020
  2. TANSL

TANSL Senior Member

Well no, it seems that this time you have not guessed right. Try again.

3. YSS Caribbean

YSS Caribbean New Member

OK. Thanks. I give it another go.

I just noticed I twisted my numbers- it should read 0.37 t! But that would be even less!

But the formular is the correct one?

Thanks for the quick response!!!

4. TANSL

TANSL Senior Member

I have no idea where that formula can come from and for what type of consumption it may be valid. For example, the consumption of many thing depends a lot on the time that the thing is working. That parameter doesn't seem to play a role in your formula.
    Actually, what device or thing do you want to know its consumption?

5. YSS Caribbean

YSS Caribbean New Member

Dear Tansl,

the formular came out of the lectors book. But I also researched it and also found it different other books.
    For exaple here: