CAD program for redesign of existing keel design

Discussion in 'Sailboats' started by Edwin Booth, May 26, 2022.

1. Edwin Booth

Edwin Booth Junior Member

Hello. Newbie here. I am planning to build a Rozenante (LF Herreshoff) but wish to redesign the keel a little bit. Is there a good CAD program that will allow me to put in the offset lines from the lofting plan and then tinker with that? I have VectorWorks now, but I can’t get it to make a fair image of what I want. Thanks

2. gonzo

gonzo Senior Member

What improvements do you wish to have? That is a very refined and sophisticated design, so it will be hard to make it much better, but easy to make it worse.

3. Edwin Booth

Hi. Thanks. Well, first I have decided to lengthen all the linear dimensions by 7%, making the LOA 30’ rather than 28’ (bad idea?). That makes the displacement approximately 22.5% larger and the draft about 3” deeper. I wanted to flatten the extra 3” into a sort of Scheel Keel shape in order both to get the draft back to the original depth and also to give me a flatter bottom profile for resting on sandy bottoms. Is this a stupid idea? Is the scaling up idea (without changing the ballast keel shape) a reasonable idea? Or should I just go back to the original length (which, to me, is a great design but is a little too short for what I want). Thanks.

4. gonzo

gonzo Senior Member

The volume increases by 22.5%, but not necessarily the displacement unless you increase the scantlings too. Are you looking for more headroom? The stability of the boat will increase a larger percentage than the sail area. Either you also modify the sail plan, or the ballast could be reduced.

kapnD likes this.
  5. Edwin Booth