Barrel length & diffuser

Discussion in 'Props' started by Tapani, Aug 13, 2022.

1. Tapani

Tapani Junior Member

Hi all,

I am looking for more stern lift under cruise speeds of 18-25 knots. My boat is the Jurmo Trimaran introduced in the "design" section.

I have a 100hp Mercury Fourstroke and run a 4 bladed Trophy plus 13 3/4 diam and 17" pitch. 35 knots GPS is easily reached keeping tje revs at 6000, a bit more maybe with a different prop, but not really needed. I run into the limiter WOT.

The barrel of is relatively long but lacks a diffuser.

Being an absolute beginner, I've not been able to find info on wether an increase of the barrel length and adding a diffuser generate stern lift at all speeds or just during hole shot. Would a diffuser help me at the cruise speed range mentioned above?

I don't mind loosing a few knots or lowering the rpms a bit.

Any suggestions on a "better" prop for me?

Thanks for any insight,

/Tapani

2. baeckmo

baeckmo Hydrodynamics

Sorry Tapani, but what are you referring to with the terms "barrel" and "diffuser"? I suspect you are talking about the propeller hub, or? Before you change anything, I suggest that you run a series of tests, where you measure trim angle at different speeds. Use the keel as referrence line.

With constant throttle, vary the engine tilt angle and note the resulting speed, boat trim and rpm at one or two speeds in the cruising range to find "the sweet spot", then we can discuss if this spot can be achieved by other means f.i. trim tabs or interceptors.

Edit: your phone has a set of physical instruments that are useful for this kind of experimenting. Download the app "phyphox" to get access to the lot; there is an inclinometer that is quite useful and precise.

3. Tapani

Tapani Junior Member

baeckmo, thanks for your reply !

Yes, I'm talking about the prop hub. Tube and possible diffuser at the end.